It is commonplace these days for parents to buy many toys for their children. Some experts claim that this action can lead to negative consequences, while other highlight the positive aspects of rearding children with toys. In this essay I will analyze those two opposite points of view trying to underline the most important issues.

People who believe that having a bunch of toys is something good for children, point out that those tools are a valid and effective support to help children develop their imagination and other creative skills, like music, drawing, painting or building. Furthermore, children have the opportunity to invest their spare time in doing something relaxing and inspiring. For example, children can cultivate a passion for construction mechanic or engineering by playing with Lego Technic. In addtion to this positive aspects, we should take also into account that parents have the possibility to mind their own businesses like doing the ironing or doing the washing up, knowing that their children are safely playing in their rooms.

On the other hand, there are other people who think that parents should not pamper their offspring by buying them an exaggerate number of toys. First of all, they point out that giving too many presents can make children extremely greedy, demanding more and more until the situation will reach a point of no return, with parents unable to say no anymore. Secondly, it can create wrong expectations in children, who might be lead to take everything for granted, which is basically the opposite of how the real world goes. Parents should instead teach children to take responsibility and to be activ when it comes to getting something.

Summing up, from my point of view I would lean to those parents who decide not to whelm children with toys since this can have a negative effect on their behaviour in the future and transmit a distorted image of the world that they will have to face in the future.