Leisure time has always been regarded as the most precious time of our life, since it allows to focus on ourselves, on our goals, to cultivate our hobbies and to forget about work for a while. Many claim that spending such a treasur doing nothing or hanging around is a sheer waste of time. To large extent, I agree with this position, if it comes to speaking about adults. I do not like to spend hours on the coach or watching recomended videos on Youtube, I prefer to use this narrow window of freedom to learn something new, do physical activity or for reading. A different approach should be employed with children. Some sustain that children should not waste their time by playing but they should occupy their leisure time with educational activities. I do not think that this would be the right route to follow, since that children need to develop several skills and abilities which are not written in books and cannot be learned by teachers.

First of allo, playing is not a waste of time, especially when it comes to team sports. Playing team sports, like basketball or football, expose children to a large number of positive attitudes that they will need in their future life, like working together to reach a goal, cooperation, solidarity and trust. Furthermore by playing with other kids, children develop further positive tracts, like the ability of gain friendships and to increase their socialization level. Less tangibly, but not less importantly, spending time away from the school duties permits children to manage better their time, since they have to organize proficiently the day in order to find enough time for doing homework and follow their passions.

In conclusion, children should be encouraged to spend their free time by reserving it for their hobbies and furthermore they should spend enough time at the open air playing with other children, which has a beneficial impact both on physical and mental health.