In almost every country,for several decades it has been mandatory to serve in the military. Although the debate about compulsory military is still open, most of the countries have abolished the draft and swtiched to a volunteer military service. Protests, high cost and inefficiency have brought to this historical decision, which allow young adults to decide freely whther to enjoy the army or not. In many countries, especially in Europe, young can also decide to dedicate some months to serve the comunity. Originally regarded as an alternative to the military service, this choice has been experience a positive response form the youth.

Politicians, social scientists and officials have often critized the conscription idea, seeing it basically as a waste of time and money. On the contrary, many have underlined the positive effects of a time that young adults can use to contribute to the public good.

This is a great opportunities that young people should not pass up: they have the opportunity to learn a profession in fields like healthcare or education, they have the chance to meet new people and make useful acquaintance. Furthermore, in a society that suffers form age segregation, a period of work in the community would surely help reduce the gap between old and young generations. Research shows that bringing older and younger generations together would nurture understanding and mutual respect that benefit the individual as well as the community.

Some would rise an eyebrown when it comes to speaking about unpaid work but the truth is that young people can earn skills and collect experiences that are more preciuos than money. Giving back is something that opens your mind, makes you more compassionate and strenghten your character.

I strongly believe therefore that governments should encourage this type of activity and allocate resources to support social projects aimed to help elderly people and to serve the community. There are a lot of young with a lot to offer and a lot of problems that are waiting only to be solved. With their energy, positive attitude, focus and skills young people are a tremendous weapon against the solitutude that grips seniors lost in retirement facilities, against the garbage that pollutes our forests and rivers or against the indifference that kills homeless people on the street.