Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Educating children to be good citizens in the future has always been a matter of concern for parents, teachers and educationists. Some people believe that this is the job of teachers at schools, while others support the idea that children should learn it at home.

On one hand, schools are advantageous in terms of citizenship education on a few dimensions. Firstly, schools have their own rules and punishments, for example, students must be punctual when going to school, or honest in exams. By adopting to them everyday, children will gradually turn into disciplined persons, who respect the law and refrain from anti-social behaviours. Secondly, since there are a myriad of people with different genders, ages, possibly races and most importantly characteristics at schools, they are like small societies. This makes it easier for children to have a grasp of the fundamental concept of society, which is pivotal for their learning good manners.

On the other hand, there is persuasive evidence that parents are the best teachers for their offspring. It is true that parents are the children’s closest ones, who understand them more than anyone else. This helps parents find the most suitable teaching method based on their sons or daughters’ own personal traits, strengths and weaknesses. Moreover, what makes parents good educators is something called ‘love’. While schools mainly focus on tedious theories and textbooks, children can have heart-to-heart conversations with their parents at home, which has much greater positive impact on their mindset and behaviours.

In conclusion, although schools do a great job in educating children as they consist of multiple elements of a society, in my opinion, parents should be the ones who help their offspring become morally and socially responsible. It is recommended that if children want to be good members of the society, they need to learn both at school and at home.