Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that being physically strong provides better chances to succeed in sport than those who have higher intellect. This essay agrees that for some particular kinds of sport it is simply necessary to have physical strength and it is more important then mental one. This essay will discuss both points of view.

It is clear that all sportsmen that belong to specific sport categories such as adventure, aquatic, extreme or mountain sports should have strong physical skills of their bodies, namely strength, dexterity and endurance. That is to say, participants using those skills, can lift, push, pull or carry heavy loads and be able to perform physically exhausting activities without problems. It is therefore agreed that having physical strength is important to succeed in those kinds of sport. Such sport category as strength and agility is main example, where physically strong sportsmen become successful winners.

However, many disagree that for successful sportsmen it is indispensable to have considerable physical strength, great dexterity and power of endurance and think that having mental strength is more useful. This is because that people prefer mind sports such as chess or mahjong to physical exercises. Despite this, active sport is one of the most valuable activities for humanity and for children especially. For instance, a 2019 study found that morning exercise is one of the foundations of a positive physical development throughout people lives.

In conclusion, while some people think that the best kind of sport is mind sport and for it people need to have a particular type of the intellectual ability, other people disagree with this and believe that mind sport is not relevant to real sport where sportsmen usually demonstrate strength, dexterity and endurance.