Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important to turn our urban landscape into a naturally habitable zone since trees help to make the surroundings more greener around houses and tall artificial structures. Although many people would argue the actual benefits of tree plantation in cities, I am of the opinion that it is more suitable to life in a jungle than the polluted cities that we live in, since this adversely affects our physical and mental health.

The planning of cities and towns should carefully account for the people living within it, hence there should be open areas for them to relax as well as safari parts and recreational zones away from the hustle and bustle of the city. In addition to this, many modern settlements often suffer from visual pollution, air pollution and noise pollution, hence trees and areas of constructed sites would make it easier for people to relax. Furthermore, these woodlands will also increase the sustainability and outlook of the city.

On the other hand, cities often have too many roads, buildings and commercial center, which are always in a state of chaos and confusion. In order to improve the spiritual and mental health of the living beings in the city, creating green zones which only have natural plantations will enable people to take the day off and enjoy the blessings of mother nature. Following this, a series of improvements can be made withing the city infrastructure such as planting trees on the footpaths and also on the rooftops. For example, Bangkok has transformed itself from being a concrete maze to a green heaven on earth.

All in all, cities are the lifeblood of the country and if the atmosphere of the city is not congenial to the people living there, then these cities will become unhealthy and overall development will suffer. Hence, it is my opinion that cities should be carefully planned by using greener establishments strategically in areas where pollution is higher.