Some people think that politicians should be responsible for solving environmental problems, as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common notion that environmental protection should be done by politicians, as individuals can not contribute to it too much. I find this argument totally groundless because the roles of these two are incomparable.

There are several reasons why the government should take the responsibility for the environment. To begin with, it is highly understandable that only politicians who have enough resources such as finance, labor, technology can solve environmental issues happening on a large scale. For instance, when it comes to universal problems like global warming or water pollution, it will require a large amount of money for investing modern devices, a team of professional scientists to solve it, which could not be afforded by any single individual. Moreover, such environmental protection projects could only be organized by the power from these authorities. For example, when they want to propagandize the importance of protecting the environment to the public, they will be able to include a large number of people in participating such campaigns on mass media and even imposing environmental laws on production activities.

In addition, it is still reasonable why individuals could also make a significant contribution to environmental protection. Firstly, it is highly possible that each person could change the whole face of the world just by changing their own daily habits. For instance, instead of driving a motorbike or a car on their way to school or office, they can walk, cycle or use public transport to reduce the emissions into the air and address air pollution. Secondly, individuals can also conduct their activities to nurture the environment. To be specific, just by planting trees, they will increase green coverage on Earth, thereby enriching the habitat of many living creatures as well as producing more oxygen.

In conclusion, from my perspective, it is unreasonable to compare the role of politicians and citizens as they have distinctive roles in protecting the environment. Both the government and individuals are vital to the conservation of our environment, therefore their mutual cooperation will help the environment to be more well-preserved.