Some people think that printed book are not necessary in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electrically. Others think printed books still play an important role. Discuss both view and give your opinion ?

Thanks to the development of technology, human beings have been become less dependent on printed books and had a tendency to save information in electronic devices and Internet – based platform. Since then, some people suppose that printed books have been superseded, whereas others still believe the prominence of them in daily lives. From my perspective, the printed books will be all the rage no matter how much the society has changed.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the introduction of technology devices has brought several benefits. First, when all of writings are stored in these devices, the security will be guaranteed, which helps people search precise information in the nick of time. In the past, people had to spend hours on end acquiring knowledge, but nowadays, a smartphone or computer connected to Internet can satisfy all of your demands. Moreover, the restriction of printing books can contribute to environmental preservation, since the amount of wood we need to provide for printed books has been decreased modestly. By reducing the consumption of paper, people can protect the environment and mitigate the deforestation.

On the other hand, books are the major source of knowledge, which contain numerous experience and stories our ancestors have passed on to young generations. That is to say, books not only become conventional mean of communication, but also have historical value. To some extent, books portray and stimulate the revolution of the culture. Besides, preserving printed books also encourages people to obtain knowledge and upholds the value of reading.

In conclusion, printed books have an indispensable role in modern society. As a result, governments should implement viable policies to boost the passion for books amongst citizen, especially youngsters.