Some people think that the qualities of a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Attending higher education in universities and institution, to some people, doesn't provide the essential skills and knowledge that make a person successful. Personally, I agree with this and think that these skills can only be attained through exposure and experience of real life implications.

To embark on, although it is undeniable that the skills to success are not often derived from taking part in courses of academic institutions, it doesn't mean a person can still be successful without going to colleges. Since universities and colleges bring to learners the fundamental insights of their respective fields which is an integral aspect of their career development, they will find it very hard to actually navigate their paths to success if without. For instance, foreigners often think of teaching English in non-English speaking nations as it is considered a stable and lucrative job. However, many of them find it very hard to attain the job due to lacking of important knowledge about the field such as classroom management and teaching pedagogy.

On the other hand, even individuals attain comprehensive knowledge of their fields, they are unlikely to be successful without experiencing real life situations. Since what acquired in classrooms and lecture halls are mostly fixed information, newly graduated pupils often face a lot of hardships in dealing with the flexibility of implications related to their work. Besides, they may initially find it difficult to apply what have learnt into actual practices. That is why other than requiring the interviewee to indicate their academic achievements in their CVs, employers often ask for their previous working experience.

In summary, academic accomplishments aren't enough to bring a person to a successful life. It needs to go along with a lot of practice. Hence, I think that a student should involve in real life activities or internships in order to find a correct strategy to a bright future.