Prize distribution in schools facilitates encouragement amongst the students to keep up the good work. Some would argue that pupils showing supremacy in their academics should only be rewarded while others believe that it is better to give rewards only to the students showing progress. Students who are ranked highest in every term are self-motivated young people who do not need motivation from external sources. Whereas, youngsters, who are not having such innate ability and showing some progress in elevating their grades, should be encouraged to touch down the desired excellence; therefore, I firmly believe that they are only rewarded.

Rewarding the best scoring students would distinguish them from other students in the class, which may lead to detrimental consequences. This includes the feeling of dismay within average or low performing students caused by giving a prize every time to the students of the year. This causes poor-performing students to remain at the same level until the end of their education which in turn, eliminates the option for them to improve their academic knowledge. To illustrate, it has been postulated in a study that the chances of improvement for any low-grade students in their academics are negligible in the institutes where students performing best academically only receives awards.

On the other hand, prizes are useful tools to make low-ranking students improve their ranks in forthcoming terms. It can be beneficial in many ways for rewarding students who show significant progress in their academic results. Firstly, since those students are from a huge portion of the class, they not only get motivated but other same or lower graded students also get inspired by their achievements. For instance, schools having this kind of reward system usually sees healthy competitions amongst the students for getting rewards after their friends get rewarded through making improvements in studies. This how schools produce young generations of good quality. Secondly, the overall IQ level of human being also increases through such kind of reward system. In other words, every school following such a system would contribute to the betterment of youth by levelling up the brainpower of young people.

To conclude, I am with the people believing in the prizing arrangements for the students who make improvements in their studies since due to that, most of the students will get motivated to compete with each other in order to receive honours in succeeding academic terms. It is recommended that if humans desire to decipher their dormant brain power then schools need to have a progress based reward system.