Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether to reward students with the highest scores or those who perform improvements remains a source of controversy in the education field. While a number of people believe that pupils who show the best academic achievements deserve awards, I would argue that offering rewards for those showing improvements is more reasonable.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why schools should reward students having excellent performances. Firstly, this could create a competitive studying environment among students. As almost all children have a strong desire to win, they will try harder to get good scores at school. Therefore the students’ quality of study can be improved. The second reason is that the best students are identified based on their academic results. As a result, they can be given special attention to develop their abilities. For example, my high school usually organizes contests among students to find out the most talented ones and then gives them extra classes to nuture their capabilities for national competitions.

On the other hand, I believe that giving encouragement to students trying hard in their study results is more important. The first reason is that this will give equal chance for all students to receive rewards. Knowing that their improvements are appreciated, pupils are motivated to try even harder and achieve greater results. Moreover, that students are awarded for their progress can promote their learning for enjoyment and understanding, not just for high grades. Consequently, some phenomena such as exam pressure or cheating to score high marks would be reduced.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to give encouragement to students who have improved their academic performance than to those having the highest marks.