some people think that scientific research should be controlled and carried out by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many hold the view that governments should be responsible for scientific research. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that scientific research can be better controlled by private companies. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that governments can make scientific research succeed easily. Compared with private companies, the national authorities can provide the research with more funds, which can be applied to hire excellent scientists to take part in enormous research projects like space exploration. In addition, the research supported by governments is more beneficial to the public, serve the public rather than make profits. For example, weather satellites launched by governments can provide free weather information to the public, help them prepare for daily activities.

On the other hand, nonetheless, private research is more efficient as they are in small scale, so do not need to deal with much bureaucracy. Enterprises can find technical requirements from market quickly and give direct command to research. Furthermore, private companies’ research can reduce the financial stress on the government, which can invest money in other important areas, such environmental protection and education.

To summarize, there is no doubt that government controlled scientific research has more outcomes. At the same time, nevertheless, private companies’ scientific research is more efficient and reliefs the financial pressure of governments. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that both ways are equally vital to promote the development of science.