Some people think secondary students should study international news as a school subject, but others suggest that it is a waste of students' valuable school time. Discuss both and give your opinion.

No one can argue that updating news is very important these days. Some people assert that teaching international news should be taken in secondary schools because it is very useful in some points, while others argue that it can waste students’ precious time. Both sides will be discussed carefully.

To begin with, there are many advantages for students who keep following international news. Firstly, learning international news helps students to open their eyes and know other nations. International knowledge, different cultures and various political systems can be acquired by only studying international news. As the globalization is dramatically increasing, it is very necessary for younger people to follow what is happening in the world. This is because, learning other nations’ news promotes the basic knowledge of other countries which helps students to be ready to get in the international job market in the future. Moreover, the comprehensive of international issues can improve the bond with other nations because teaching this thing to secondary students will develop good understanding about other countries to younger people which can definitely improve the national ties in the future.

On the other hand, some people oppose that there are many disadvantages of educating international news. Firstly, it definitely wastes times for secondary students. As this topic is not related to our common daily lives, international issues are very far from students’ lives. Therefore, there is no point to instruct secondary students. In addition, there are many complicated information on international news such as different political systems or economic issues which can be very difficult for younger people to perceive these issues.

To sum up with my opinion, the benefits of teaching international news contribute to broadening students’ horizons and preparing students to the competitive job market in the future, whereas it can be very hard for them to overcome all different topics. However, schools should instruct and encourage students to keep following what is going on in other countries because it is definitely essential in order to compete with other nations.