Many people believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of a modern city. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

In this day and edge, many cities are facing many problems such as traffic congestion and environmental problems. Some people assert that in order to tackle this problem the city need to develop public transportation. As a result, many people think that the key component of civilized city is an effective transportation. However, the development of public transportation also has some drawbacks. Other advantages and disadvantages of an effective public transport system will be discussed carefully.

On the one hand, there are many advantages of developing public transport system. First and foremost, it can definitely decrease the number of private car drivers. People will more likely to use public transport modes rather than driving their vehicle. With the convenience and reliability of buses and subways, the number of passengers will increase and also ease the congested traffic in a city. Secondly, the improvement of public transport modes also tackles the environmental problem, significantly. If most citizens commute by buses or subways and avoid using a private car, the total of toxic gas emission in a city will defiantly decrease. The quality of air will be alleviated and the quality of citizens’ lives will improve, consequently. Therefore, there are many merits to people ad society when the state has an effective public transport system.

On the other hand, this improvement also has some disadvantages to society. This is because, with an effective public transport system, it requires a large among of budget to subsidize on improving the system. The state has to support on an expensive maintenance or the cost for expanding the system which could not be affordable. If the city cannot support these expenses, the public transport will have to increase the fee to all passengers. As a result, with an increasing of bus and subway fee, it will be hard for poor citizens to afford on expensive price. This is a negative development of an effective public transportation system which can affect directly to the expenditure of residents.

In conclusion, even though a reliable public transport system has many advantages to citizens and society which attribute to alleviating air pollution and releasing traffic congested, it has a negative effect with an expensive charge to passengers. However, with appropriately developing steps of public transport modes, it will bring beautiful modern city to all residents.