Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some people believe that children should be urged to foster a competitive spirit rather than collaborate with others. While some people argue that cooperation with peers is useful for children, I would argue that children having encouragement to adopt a sense of competition is much more crucial.

On the one hand, mixing with mates could help develop and hone toddlers’ skills by acquiring practical knowledge in shared activities. They could gain experience with precious lessons from others’ mistakes throughout the whole process working together. Therefore, they would apply all the valuable things they acquire to themselves and find it easier to achieve the same initial target. Playing in a football team together, for example, requires strong bonds between teammates in order to win the game.

On the other hand, competitive spirit does not mean owning a merciless or ruthless attitude. Instead, young generations can boost their productivity and reach full potential if they fully comprehend this whole ideal. By creating a challenging environment, children get a chance to work harder through spending time practicing so as to outperform their opponents. Hence, they can adopt a sense of satisfaction and achievement when reaching the goal. Usaint Bolt, for instance, a famous athlete, has trained himself for 5 years before setting a world’s record of racing.

In conclusion, both possessing a competitive and learning spirit are crucial, but it is more beneficial for children to be ambitious under a challenging environment.