Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that children should be promoted to compete at school. However, others think that it is of necessity to teach them a sense of collaboration so that they could become a good member of society. While competition is occasionally essential in the educational system, I believe that cooperation is more likely to have a long-lasting effect.

According to some people’s perspectives, children should be allowed to participate in various competing activities so that they could be more active and dynamic. This is the case because when engaging in competitions, they are able to expose underlying potential, which helps them to be independently successful. Besides, in today’s world, competitive markets are increasingly prevalent, which requires youngsters to strive independently to achieve success. For instance, a competition related to mathematics may lay the foundation for later learning in their careers as they could develop such skills as problem-solving, which may be vital when working in an independent environment.

However, alongside the influence of competition, I believe that a sense of collaboration would have a positive impact on children. The main reason is that being able to work in a group of people, this benefits the development of the whole child across social, cognitive, and emotional domains. For instance, when having a group discussion, not only could they freely express their thoughts and feelings but also learn from each other, point out mistakes, and make a contribution, which plays an indispensable role in the productivity and efficiency of a whole group. This example indicates that if children are taught to be cooperative earlier, their personalities and qualities will be enhanced.

In conclusion, although some say that schooling should give priority to the encouragement of competition among children, I argue that collaboration is of fundamental importance for later working and living.