Nowadays, it is widely argued what is the most appropriate values that should be taught to children, to facilitate them as they grow up to become useful members of society. Some people believe that children should be encouraged to compete and to constantly strive to be the best at whatever they do, while others hold the opinion that young people should be educated to work better with others, and as members of large groups. I personally believe that the most important skill for people growing up is to have a sense of competition for the reasons that I mention below.

There are, however, those who believe that it is a priority for the newest members of our society to learn to peacefully co-exist with others and work efficiently with them. Let us not forget that, despite our national identities, we are citizens of the world, and our communities are to a large extent multicultural. For that reason, some consider that it is imperative for kids to learn from a very young state to co-operate with other children of different nationality, religion et.c... In England, for instance, there are a lot of projects running in schools that give young people the opportunity to be a part of a large project, such as painting the walls of public buildings and as result co-operate with a lot of people of different backgrounds simultaneously.

A different view, and one that I personally favor, suggests that, although it is very important for children to cultivate team spirit, is at the same time imperative to be encouraged to compete. In today’s world, we always strive for improvements. For example, in the field of technology, there are constantly new applications or gadgets invented. Steve Jobs, in his recent interview, said publicly that, in order to succeed in any field, of course, you need to be mentally curious, but at the same time you are required to be on top of what you do, and always pursue and further-develop your craft. Being competitive does not mean that you despise other people or that you are necessarily self-absorbed or socially distanced. It merely indicates that constantly demand and expect from yourself more.

To sum up, in my opinion, our society will benefit a lot, should it encourages children from a young age to compete.