Some people think sport is important to society. Other, however, feel it is nothing more than leisure activity.

Discuss both views and give opinion.

We have witnessed that sport has gained its popularity in society. However, others think that sport just a leisure activity. In my perspective, both parties are reasonable which I will explain below.

There are certainly some reasons why sport is important to society. One of the reason is that local residents can become more healthier than ever. By playing sports frequently at basketball courts and football fields, the local residents will have good healthy conditions. The government therefore can save the money which allocates for the hospitals and clinics. Another reason is that young people are able to cultivate a good habit. With the rapid advancement of technology, young people often play computer games and video games. If parents encourage their children to do more sport instead of playing game at home, children would tend to play more sport with friends.

However, there are opposing voices saying that sport is nothing more than leisure activity. It is true that sport can count as a leisure activity because not everyone have the abilities and potentials to become professional sport players. Therefore, Local citizens generally considered it as simply activities for relaxing their mind and body during holidays. Apart from this, many families see sport as their leisure time to enhance the relationship with their children. Due to live in metropolis, parents often are busying for their job tasks and put less care on their children. As a result, sport naturally becomes families leisure activity in order to spend more time with the family members.

In conclusion, although some people feel leisure activity are the same as sport, I still think that sport play an important role to society because it has brought advantages to local people.