some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Ohers, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety

Opinion is divided as to whether harsh penalties should be the primary strategy for reducing traffic incidents or not. I think that such punishments ought to be used in conjunction with others to effectively lower accident rates.

Strict punishments can serve as a powerful deterrent against reckless drivers. in fact, a growing body of studies has indicated that most motorists are more terrified of receiving costly fines, which can total many thousands of dollars, or having their license suspended than they are of inflicting injuries on other road users. Therefore, were there no severe penalties, dangerous drivers would continue to engage in reckless driving. More importantly, revenues generated from fines can be utilized to upgrade the road infrastructure, which is also of great importance to road safety.

To achieve the best results, however, a number of following approaches should be considered. Firstly, it is important to improve the effectiveness of traffic safety education. This means to be a certified driver, candidates are required to undergo rigorous driving tests that are designed to develop safe driving practices, such as being alert of potential traffic hazards or handling driving aggressiveness. As a result, motorists are trained to proactively shun collisions. Furthermore, public transportation needs to be invested and subsidized so that citizens are encouraged to use it more frequently instead of private vehicles, which gradually reduces not only traffic congestion but also road incidents.

In conclusion, in order to curb the increase in accident rates, diverse initiatives, such as heavy fines, driving instruction and public transportation should be coordinated. otherwise, there would not be a real decline in crashes.