Some people think that taxation should be able to keep to a minimum as the money people earn should be theirs to do with as they wish. Others believe that people should pay a significant level of tax in order to support the public services we all depend on.

In your view, what is the fairest way to deal with the issue of taxation?

Nowadays, it is commonly believed that people should pay taxes at a minimum rate since they would like to spend their money on what they want. Whereas, other people think that it should be kept to a proper level to develop public facilities. This essay argues that although people should be able to do with money that they wish, it is better to pay the tax for public purposes.

On the one hand, many people say that the tax should be kept to a minimum. This is because they dedicate their time to work, so they have a right to spend their money to make them happy such as travel and accessories. For example, A survey of Bangkok post revealed that over 70% of Thai citizens became happier when the government reduced the tax level. However, I believe that it can only be a short-term happiness and people should pay more tax for the government.

On the other hand, taxation should be a significant rate depending on our annual income. A slightly higher amount of money collected from tax will allow the government to invest more money on public services as public transportation and health care. In addition, I will be more useful for people in the country. For instance, Germany changes taxation to an appropriate level for rich people and provides a better transportation system. By doing this, it leads to a better life without traffic congestion for Germanises. Moreover, it is a long-term happiness because they do not have to take much time to travel around the cities.

To summarise, although many people insist that they should pay the tax base on their annual income, I still reaffirm that paying a tax significant level allows the government to invest more benefits and provides people with happiness in the long-term.