Some people think that technology makes life complex, so we should make our life simpler without using technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

We currently live in such complex society, now that technology keeps advancing more and more. Some people despise these changes as it makes our lives much more complex and consequentially, makes us less happy. This essay shall analyze the origins, along with the arguments made by those who agree with the former statement and come up with an answer.

The origins of people wanting a simpler and happy life, without the interference of technology seems to stem from the Luddite movement in industrial Britain. The Luddites sought to destroy machinery as it would destroy their crafts and jobs, along with how poor the labor rights were in those factories. This movement would die out due to government suppression as the British parliament passed a policy which made “machine breaking” a felony. Now, let us point to some of the earlier examples, like Ted Kaczynski, he sought to destroy industrial society through acts of terrorism and such so as to grant “freedom” for humanity.

So why is technology bad according to them? Whilst it is true that some technologies, especially ones related to industry is bound to make lives harder for those who cannot cope with it, the conclusion that we should abandon such technologies is absurd. Have these gentlemen ever seen how comfortable society is for us now? Case in point, during the feudal era, you needn’t sell your labor-power to those who were above you under feudalism (which was a society less technologically advanced than one of capitalism), yes that is correct. This is because it cannot become a commodity, for said workers under feudalism are already owned by the feudal lords, just like how we own cattle. The lords freely used it because it was already owned by himself.

In conclusion, the idea that we should abandon technology due to some drawbacks is absurd, utopian and idealistic. What is to actually be done is to utilize these machineries in a different way, one not of exploitation or wage-labor, but one of social production so that there shall be free consumption for all.