Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole Do you agree or disagree

Doing unpaid jobs is one of the ways to contribute to the community. Some people suppose that teenagers should be forced to do this because of several benefits to themselves as well as the society. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement.

Undoubtedly, there are several key disadvantages for teenagers. Firstly, there is an economic problem. Many adolescents live on the edge, which makes them have to find a part-time job to earn money. Thus, doing unpaid work in their free time means that they cannot make money to meet their needs. Additionally, although having to spend almost the day at school, there are numerous homeworks they have to finish in their free time. If they have to work, they are not able to study at home. In other words, it may be harmful to their study. These problems may interfere with adolescents.

Nevertheless, in spite of some drawbacks, there are clear benefits to community and teenagers. First, although adolescents are not paid for their jobs, the local government may spend the budget on several social purposes instead of paying for them. Therefore, it brings the financial benefits to community. Moreover, despite having less time to self-study at home, they have more chances to learn social skills which are not taught at school. These skills may be necessary for all walks of life. Last but not least, there are positive effects to individual development. Due to working in their free time, their physical health will be definitely improved. They also have the responsibility to society as well as having the honor of labouring efforts. Clearly, requiring teenagers to do unpaid works brings various advantages.

To sum up, although teenagers may have some problems about money and study, I favour that teenagers should be expected to do unpaid jobs in their spare time because it can bring financial benefits to community as well as help them to improve social skills and personalities.