There are some who think that adolescents should be required to do unpaid community work, which they believe will be extremely beneficial for them and the society. I completely disagree with this statement due to the fact that they should spend their free time on more important things.

To begin with, adolescence is where teenagers go through changes and it can be a very stressful period of time for some, plus going to school for eight hours straight is already a fulltime job; hence they need time for themselves. Furthermore, after a full day of schooling, teenagers usually tend to blow off some steam, some might have hobbies, some may hang out with friends and go to the movies, and some may even stay at home and do their homework, as long as they cut loose of their stressed day. Unlike adults, teenagers have a long future ahead of them after high school to do work, while they cannot replace the adolescent period after it is too late. Finally forcing teenagers to do unpaid community work will do more damage than good.

Additionally, unpaid community work is more of punishment than help, in fact it can relate to serious adolescent problems. Going to work on a daily basis without getting paid as well, makes the teenager feel like he is being trapped and as a form of punishment, while he sees his friends having a good time; this will affect his mental health and can lead to hating education and failure at school. Each period of time in a person's life must be lived as it should be in order to maintain balance, as for students in high schools they should spend their time between education and doing what they like.

In conclusion, I believe that mandatory unpaid community work is harmful for teenagers. However, letting them decide what to do with their free time is more productive.