Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that governments are spending more money than necessary to maintain old buildings in good conditions, and that knocking them down entirely and building new ones is more budget-friendly. In my opinion, there is little to agree with such a thought, and the reasons behind that are going to be expounded in this essay.

Firstly, old buildings have remarkable historical and artistic values, which is the main reason why money is being poured into the work of repairing them. Many establishments have been proved to be the results of years of hard work of well-known artistic historical figures, making them irreplaceable masterpieces that represent certain periods of history. Those are factors that no modern building can contain. Some renowned examples are the Colosseum and the Pisa Tower - admirable artistic structures with hundreds of years in age and world-wide reputation.

Secondly, as a result of cultural values stated above, many old buildings have become effective tourist attractions. These artificial historical sites are usually visitors’ all-time favorite destinations, bringing back economic benefits by selling tickets and creating job opportunities for locals. Therefore, the amount of money spent in the process of preserving and repairing can be easily paid back. I believe that it is not exaggerating to say that those establishments have proved themselves to be some sort of profitable investment.

In conclusion, I believe that old buildings have irreplaceable cultural values that no modern ones can consist, and the amount of money spent on repairing them is not only necessary but also profitable.