The system of education replicates our expectations of what skills and knowledge will be valuable in the future. One part of society holds the belief that all students should pick majors, which they prefer. Whilst others think that every student has to study subjects, that will have practical use in the future, such as those related to science and technology. This essay will discuss both points of view and express my attitude to that issue.

On the one hand, the freedom of choice provided to students is essential condition for future success in life in general. Within the last century, approaches to education have been continuously evolving and recently scientists have revealed that the main driver of personal and social development is ability of individuals to think creatively. However, I believe that any restrictions in ability to pick something influence creativity, thus, those who choose majors by themselves have higher potential and value for society.

On the other hand, the technical development is essential for our future, as a result, science and technology professionals are in high demand. Therefore, the government should stimulate students to pick majors, which could provide sound knowledge base for students in those valuable fields. For instance, the educational governors of Estonia has found it useful in some cases to limit ability of students to choose subjects in order to increase the number of potential specialists in science and technology spheres and they received considerable results. I believe that it is an extreme measure and could be employed only in the case of emergency.

In conclusion, both approaches have some positive as well as negative consequences. In my opinion, even though some specialists are in higher demand and theoretically some subjects will be more useful for society in the future, if students had not picked that majors by themselves they would have lower odds to be successful in that fields.