Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As a result of rapid social development, the role of traditions seems to have declined significantly and there is a debate as to whether young people should follow these traditions or not.

Some people, particularly some elderly citizens, preserve the old way of life and hold some conventional customs. The believe that young people ought to practice the time-honored traditions as these traditions can help to enhance the cohesion of families as well as solidarity of the country. For instance, on some festivals, young people are expected to return home to reunite with their family members, no matter how busy they are. By showing respect for family and for their parents, young people learn to be considerate, social and responsible. Also, there is a wide concern that some traditions may die out in several decades if young people show little interest in them. Therefore, some people consider it important for young people to inherit and preserve the traditional culture.

However, some other people argue that young people should be allowed to act in their own way as they live in a world different from that of their parents and grandparents. It is unrealistic to require young people to follow all traditions, some of which are outdated and of little value. Living in a fast changing society, young people, creative and innovative, tend to adapt to the new environment and embrace the new lifestyle. So we should let them make their own choice rather than force them to.

Personally, I do not agree that young people should follow traditions in every aspect of social life. The survival of a tradition depends on how it accommodates the need of people. However, for some endangered traditional culture, it is the duty of the government to take measures to protect it and raising the awareness among young people can be an effective way.