Some people think that young people should spend free time with families instead of outside entertainment, others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether the youth should devote their spare time to family-oriented pursuits or outside diversions has been a topic of controversy. I am convinced by both sides of this arguments as it is essential that youngsters allocate their idle time to both families and outside enjoyments.

On the one hand, proponents of the young dedicating their free time to family-based endeavors have their own convincing grounds. The primary reason for this is that family plays an indispensable role in nurturing people’s spiritual lives owing to it fostering sense of belonging and emotional attachment among family members. As a result, a strengthened family bond can render the young more confident, improving their outlook on life. However, the argument is flawed in that allocating time to family rather than social engagement can make the youth lack soft skills owing to limited exposure to the outside society. True as it may sound, parental guidance or family engagement can also equip people with those skills, which may come in useful when it comes to leading an independent life.

On the other hand, the reasons why it is vital that the young take part in external recreations seem obvious. To start with, those recreational activities, besides family, can help improve one's social skills like communication or problem-solving skills through encountering many new people and challenges outside family protection. This can grant the young an opportunity to improve their employability, thus assuring them a stable life with a proper job. Another essential point to consider is that devoting spare time to outside diversions can also expand the youth’s social circle, which can act as a catalyst to move up their career ladder. To exemplify, people can utilise those high-quality relationships from outside entertainment to seek potential promotion at work or learn valuable lessons from their friends.

In conclusion, I contend that it is beneficial for the young to distribute their free time between family interactions and recreational activities as they both foster young people’s mental health and career prospects.