Some people think that young people should spend more of their free time at home with their families and spend less time entertaining themselves outside, others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, there is a public debate related to time spent for families. It is thought that young people should allocate more time for their families and less on entertainment outside the home. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate this phenomenon.

To begin with, it is thought that young people ought to allocate more time with families rather than entertainment outside the home. The most frequent factor contributing to this view is that time spent on families is much less than the time spent on other activities in this day and age. One example to demonstrate this view is that statistics in this field show that Americans enjoy just 37 minutes of “quality time” as a family each day during the week. As this example reveals, it is manifest that youngsters should spend more time for their families these days.

On the other hand, some people disagree with this statement. One explanation to support this statement is that young people find it difficult for them to express their feelings as well as their worries or difficulties, which they are facing up with, with the members of their families. As a result, they are likely to share these with people outside. For that reason, it is clear that they tend to spend time enlarging their friend circle to unburden themselves to their friends. In fact, a survey in this field has shown that nearly a quarter of American teenagers feel like they cannot confide in with their parents. Therefore, they allocate more time to develop their relationships instead of their families.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that youngsters should spend more time for their families due to the less amount of time spent on now. However, they also need time to foster their companionship to open their hearts to these when encountering dilemma in life. All in all, I'm am of the view that youngsters should spend time equally for families and entertainment outside because of undisputed benefits brought up above.