Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos xan be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give you own opinion

In this day and age, a host of wild animals is on the brink of extinction so how to conserve them is always one of the topics of interest. It is argued that keeping animals in zoos is unacceptable and immoral so it is imperative to close down all these places while other say that zoos can play an integral part in preserving animals. In spite of some severe consequences zoos can bring to animals, I believe that they are prime factors for their protection.

On the one hand, living inside cages for years can make a negative impact on their health and essential instincts that they have gained when living in forests. In fact, there is an inseparable correlation between animals and natural habitats so forcing them to say inside cages can deter them from being exposed to the environment, which can lead to losing surviving aptitude. Therefore, it is drastically challenging for them to turn back to the normal life in forests when they are released. Furthermore, it is recorded that there is a myriad of zoos mistreating animals. By means of social media, it is not too difficult for us to find dozens of videos and images of skinny ones which are punched at the faces or famished by ruthless zookeepers. These animals are woefully abused to appeal visitors as much as possible, which contribute to a huge amount of profit for the owners. More specifically, when they are old or sick, they are instantly taken to slaughterhouses where they are killed for their meat, fur and other valuable parts of their bodies.

On the other hand, erecting zoos is considered as an ideal way to protect animals owing to these following reasons. First of all, the illegal poaching and trade are happening more and more often so zoos are the places which can supply them with food, drink and especially shelter to avoid hunters. For example, over the last decade, there have been about a significant decline of 90% in the quantity of tigers all over the world so they are taken to the zoos for preservation and even breeding programs. Secondly, zoos can provide teachers with supportive assistance to educate children about the unshaken importance of animals. The result of this is that the awareness of conserving the nature and endangered animals are highly reinforced and intensified. Evidently, hundreds of non-profit organizations and projects established with an aim to allocating a massive amount money to the combat against the extinction of some animals shed a light on the excessive concern of people about this issue. Consequently, there will be no need worrying about factors related to human beings intimidating the survival of animals so they are properly released from zoos to live at their own natural habitats.

In conclusion, although zoos-related issues are severe, its role in protection of wild animals should also be taken into thorough consideration by virtue of their advantages they can bring to animals.