Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.(revised version)

Zoos are places where animals live their captivity lives far from their natural habits. In the world there are two big visions: the animal-rights activists' one which say that zoos are cruel and they should be closed, and the other people' one, which say that they are useful to protect rare animals. In this essay I will talk about the two different views.

In my opinion, they are both right. On one hand some structures are very small for some types of animals, like elephants, hippopotamuses and giraffes. On the other hand, the animals cited before are protected species and they should live in a controlled habitat, without the danger of poachers.

One of the arguments that animal-rights activists bring is that in these places animals are treated in a very bad way, they are not cured, do not eat so much and people sedate them to domesticate them. Another way to tame them is with electrical shocks, although it is not used a lot nowadays. Moreover, people tend to give foods to animals but this can be poisonous for some type of creatures because the can not eat in a different way from their diet.

On the other side, the zoos employees say that animals are managed in a very good way, because they have to be protected. They are treated with the best drugs, are fed with the greatest food and are sedate with a very low measure of sedative.

In conclusion, there is not a correct point of view between these two groups of people, they are both right. Some zoos are actually cruel, especially in less developed countries, but at the same time there a lot of laws which protect animals in these structures.