Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some say that these are the best people to talk to school students about dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime education at schools has been of great importance in many countries. Some people claim that letting those ex-prisoners have a talk in front of school students is an excellent education method. Although I partially agree with the statement, schools, and government authorities should also take this responsibility. This essay will delve into the reasons for my opinion.

On the one hand, ex-offenders are believed to educate children well about the dangers that they might encounter when committing a crime via their own experience. Reformed offenders, for example, can tell young people about the discontent experience of a criminal lifestyle and what life in prison is really like which consequently helps dispel any misconceptions that youngsters have about criminals. Moreover, criminals that have been released and become productive members of society may motivate youths to pursue their aspirations. Clearly, the vivid nature of their stories has considerable impacts on students.

On the other hand, given that these used-to-be lawbreakers, in fact, have committed crimes in the past, it is vital for us to be conscious of the content of their speeches. As a result, these motivational speeches should be controlled carefully by schools and the government. Police, for example, should take responsibility for inspecting these criminals before and during giving a speech to ensure the effectiveness of the talk. In other words, other organizations should monitor these criminals in order to protect children.

In conclusion, talk given by ex-offenders is necessary for informing students. However, I believe that schools and government should also coordinate to ensure the effectiveness of these speeches. Should these parties combined, children are well educated which consequently contributes greatly to crime prevention.