Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people believe that prisoners tend to become better inhabitants after jail time, and it is said that these committed citizens will be the right people to express to young people about the dangerous crime. In my viewpoint, I agree with that statement.

Schools often use some alternative methods which may have less effective in educating learners. Firstly, teachers usually talk to their students about the dark side of criminals through films or news. Therefore, teenagers will suspect the accuracy of given information because these films sometimes are made up and did not base on real situations. Secondly, police officers can talk exactly to adolescents about criminal cases such as drugs additive, but they often lack experience of these committing. For example, the officers can not share or express their feeling with teenagers about the status of the temptation of heroin because they have never tried it before.

I presume that using re-formed citizens have two advantages. On the one hand, young people tend to believe ex-offenders who had real experiences about criminals. For instance, these ex-prisoners can describe how hard feelings of the additive of morphine and how they have to struggle when they can not find this substance. On the other hand, they also can share with teenagers about the difficult time when they were in jail to warn and deter the listeners from committing crimes. Besides, when they offend a crime and go to prison, their families also are affected by investigating, which comes from police officers, and the discrimination of society.

In conclusion, I absolutely agree that ex-offenders will be better citizens, and they are a good example for teenagers about committing crimes.