Although a valuable variety of methods has been designed to promote relaxation, some experts subscribe to the view that being free of doing daily activities is of great benefit. I personally acknowledge this point of view which I will discuss in this essay.

Admittedly, the ability to relax and effectively manage stress is essential for the physical and emotional well-being. Interestingly, people`s choices and activities to refresh and recharge the inner calm may hugely vary from person to person. Equally, doing nothing such as lying in a beach could be a wonderful restorative tool, allowing everybody`s mind to be clear from internal and external experiences, detrimental thoughts and feelings and etc. which produce great calming effects. For instance, meditation is a sophisticated well-designed practice on which subjects spend the time to do nothing, hopefully relieving physical and mental tensions which have afflicted people.

With regard to the above argument, the recent modern breakthroughs in technology have revolutionized people`s lifestyle in a way that they are constantly bombarded with sensory information and global events in an instant. When coupled with greater demands on our time and less time for ourselves, the level of distress and burnout can gradually be compounded. Therefore, it seems a practical proposition to be away from technological gadgets such as smartphones as well as the internet, certainly ensuring a healthy, balanced and satisfying life. Finally, some physical disorders which can manifest with stress merit serious consideration, when embracing an effective management of stress, whereby taking only a break might not be a sensible option to overcome stress.

All things considered, relaxing and spending the time to do nothing can be judged as a necessity for a balanced and less-stressed life, as long as no underlying disease has been diagnosed as the root cause of stress.