Over the past decades, a surge has been seen in divorce rate in some affluent nations. This phenomenon has sparked a heated debate on whether a wedding party should be a result of emotion or an acquirement of materialistic benefits like financial support and reputation. This essay is set to explore both positions, yet I would contend that love is the key of marriage whereas families formed under materialism are likely to translate into a misery.

First of all, evident is the fact that most couples who get married for the first time have a yearning to stay with one's partner in the entire life, and to conceive a baby under their names. In fact, such craving is a corollary of compassion - an emotion that allow one be solicitous and care about another with intimacy. Consequently, to intensify the relationship, these parents are more willing to lavish their time and resources to their children.

However, recent interviews conducted by the Love Society showed some alternative ideology pervading in the minds of the youngsters. Indeed, the conventional sense of aforementioned affection is not a crucial factor prior to their marriage; over half of the respondents argue that they would get closer eventually afterward. Meanwhile, 80% of them are perplexed about the shortfall of economic resources that might hinder the development of a family on the condition that they get married to those less wealthy. This perception could be readily expound in a society that are deemed incredibly materialistic. Therefore, the financial support accompanied with the wealthy is not only at attraction, but also an assurance to their foreseeable future.

Given the arguments from both views, I would defend the notion that love is intrinsically the most pivotal element that leads to prolonged relationship, and the well-being of the members from these ensuing families can be flourished with affection.