In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. TO what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the juvenile delinquency has turned into a more serious problem in recent years. Concerning the issue that how teenagers should be punished people have different opinions. As far as I am concerned, I believe that they also should be punished in that vein as adults for the major offences.

Firstly, if we turn a blind eye to the crimes committed by adolescents, it can motive them to break the law. Along these lines, the fixed punishment for major crimes can be regarded as the ultimate deterrent for everybody, particularly for teenagers. Taking into consideration the fact that young persons are more impressionable, the fear can be a crucial factor which prevents them from resorting to crime.

Secondly, making exceptions in the law would be the wrong step to be taken which can undermine government’s authority among people. The more fixed rules, the more obedient citizens government will have. At some point, nobody would like to rely on the law which is full of privileges.

Lastly, if there were discernable differences for the major crimes, it would bring inequality not only to society but also prisons. Adult inmates would demand the same discipline to all outlaws regardless of their age. On the condition that their requests are disapproved, it may result in discrimination to young prisoners in the jails.

For the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that there should be the fixed legislations against serious falling foul of the law disregarding that adults or teenagers are responsible for.