Some students prefer to take a gap year and between high school university to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People differ greatly in their views about as to whether students should take a year off before pursuing higher education. While this trend is benifical to some extent, I would contend that the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons why taking a break from studying after graduating high school exerts some positive effects on students. First and foremost, this activity may enable students to enrich themselves with real-life experiences that are advantagenous to their careers in the future. This is because, if students get a paid job during the gap time, they could learn many working skills, such as communication, teamwork, time management, which all are esstential for their future jobs. Sencondly, choosing a gap year to travel to different places can lead to an improvement in students’ social, cultural knowledge as well as self-care skills. As a consequence, not only are these students more mature, but they can also be easy to intergrate in globalised world.

On the other hand, I firmly convinced that there are more disadvantages to students who take a gap year. The main reason is that it may be difficult for students to recall the knowledge and studying skills that they acquired in high school after a year off. An exellent example of this is that when students get a physically demanding jobs in this time, they will be too tired to revise any knowledge. Another convincing reason is that travelling during the gap year can fascinate students in discovering, thus they distract from learning. This can be culprit to a decrease of the academic results of students when they continue their studying at university.

In conclusion, although spending a gap year before following university program is benefical in some aspects, such as providing students key skills and knowledge for their jobs in the future, I am of the opinion that this trend is associated with many disadvantages, including the difficult in recalling pass knowledge.