“Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?”

In today’s world, there has been an accelerating trend of students taking a break from studying before pursuing tertiary education. While this trend is beneficial in some respects, its shortcomings are more significant for the followers of this trend.

A gap year may enable students to enrich themselves with real-life experiences that are beneficial to their future. These may include having a paid job, from which those who have just entered adulthood may learn many working skills, such as communication, teamwork and following orders. The youngsters taking a gap year, as a result, are better prepared for their future jobs. Some gap-year-takers may also travel the world and absorb knowledge of diverse cultural settings and from different geographical contexts. In this globalised world, such knowledge is essential for developing a successful career.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages of taking a gap year for recent high-school graduates are serious, far outweighing the advantages. The primary reason is that the young can be overwhelmed by the unwanted difficulties of life outside of school campus. A physically demanding job, for example, can be exhausting for most high-school-leavers. Another significant reason is that to some youngsters without firm academic goals, earning money and living without the discipline of formal schooling could be more appealing than returning to school after the gap year. If they choose not to go back to school, they may lose the chance of obtaining academic knowledge and university degrees, which may help them earn even more money in the future.

In summary, despite potential gains, there are more serious drawbacks associated with a gap year such as the overwhelming difficulties when starting to work too soon and the prospect of not acquiring any university knowledge and degrees. It is recommended that students should take a university course right after they finish their high school.