Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel.

Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, going straight to university or entering the workforce is not the only option for high school seniors. However, instead of these choices, taking a gap year, in which students defer university enrollment to travel or work, is significantly rising. Despite some obvious benefits of this trend, I would agree that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two major profits when students prefer to delay tertiary education for one year. First of all, gap year takers are afforded to experience and boost their potential, which helps them enrich their life experiences. For example, during this year, students can get a job and save money for paying their tuition fees. As a result, they can hone practical skills and have independent lives. The youngsters become more mature and figure out different aspects of life throughout this break. Second, the following benefit is that gap year allows new graduates to travel and immerse themselves in alien cultures. Especially, with many students who had made a decision to study abroad, they have to adapt quickly to their new environments and intensity all points such as languages, cultural knowledge or get familiar to the weather, local people, new lifestyles,... What they should do to acquainted with is taking a gap year so that they can learn about these things related to the districts.

On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of having a year-long break are more substantial than such benefits. A major drawback is that after a long rest, gap-year takers may fall behind their studies as well as facing peer pressure, which could possibly drain their self-confidence. For instance, during the gap year, high school leavers only pay attention to earn money, they put the whole study away and when they return to college, see their friends walked a thousand miles farther than them, they may lose momentum and feel discouraged before their new school year. In addition to this, high school seniors somehow find it hard to resume their education after a long time of being distracted from formal schooling. Consequently, students will take a while to recall both their knowledge and deep focus on studying, which affects the quantity of learning. Last but not least, these young individuals are unlikely to save up a lot of money or cultivate practical skills during the gap year. This can be attributed to the fact that they can not do great things yet or their occupations are just side hustles as they just left high school so their salaries are not well nor learn anything substantive.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of taking a gap year between high school and university are more noteworthy than the profits.

(I wrote it base on band 9 writings)