Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some students choose to take a one-year break, either working or traveling, after graduated from high school. This might be a good idea in terms of career planning. However, some people argue that it is a completely waste of time.

Firstly, taking one year off after high school could be beneficial for those students who want to obtain some insights about the industries they interested. Having a better understanding about the job, the student will be more prudent when choosing their major in university and avoid select the courses inconsistent with their career prospective. In my country, little connections were found between the business area that people entered and what they leant form university.

On the other side of the coin, taking the one year off can be less helpful in career and time wasting. The adverse opinions state that people with high school degree can only obtain less important role in companies and learn very little. In addition, student who delaying their enrolment of university are left behind by their peers. Providing that they will graduate from university later than their peers, they will enter into the employment market later than their peers. Therefore, they may find they are in a weak position when competing with peers.

In conclusion, taking one year off after high school provides students with good opportunities to know the world and themselves. It also risky that they may end up with nothing significant learnt and be regret about the time wasted. For me, the benefits outweigh the disadvantage since I believe student should make sure what they really enjoy and interest before enter university and have a deeper knowledge in those subjects.