Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that many colleges and universities are adopting online education, so students can easily take any internet course. The trend would create certainly drawbacks but there will also be some benefits.

One the one hand, it is clear that online courses from universities always have their disavantages. One evident when students learn online is that it would lack of social interaction and soft skills. In the other words, although the technology is developing fast, online courses will be limited by the visualization and required hand-on experience such as Neurology or Chemistry. Another reason is that it would have limited from many traditional universities. Last but not least, some companies and organizations often reject applicants who take it by studying online. For instance, if two candidates are interviewed who are exactly in the same in every respect, except one studied at a conventional university and the other studied online, in many cases the student who studied online will miss out.

On the other hand, there are several advantages when studing online. Firstly, the biggest advantage to study online is the increase in flexibility. This flexibility is why online education is very popular with mature-age students who have other commitments, such as work or children. Secondly, the students just need a computer with internet access to study online. They could have all the lectures and assignments from the university via email or a kind of file transfer system. Finally, studying online helps students avoid a variety of financial risks. For example, students can pay a certain amount of money for the textbooks of each course, in addition to living expenses, travel expenses if they are away from the university.

In conclusion, there are plus point to need a laptop with internet access, the flexibility and avoid some financial risks. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of the lack of soft skills and interaction, the visualization and required hand-on experience and job.