Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern society, as the internet is becoming more accessible than ever before, online university courses have been booming. From my perspective, this development is caused by myriad factors, and I strongly believe that enormous benefits brought by e-learning outweigh its demerits.

It is true that there are several drawbacks that should be taken into account. First and foremost, web-based learning can limit the interaction of learners and teachers. Instead of being taught face to face by teachers, students have to learn via pre-recorded videos or rely on written forms of communication. At the same time, those who study online do not come into direct with each other, this can have a negative impact on improving interpersonal skills including interactive activities, live discussion, and teamwork. For example, while students in traditional course models can attend seminars and even discuss their subjects over coffee after lessons, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas. In addition to this, another pronounced disadvantage is that universities can offer online courses in certain disciplines because some areas that have the connection with elaborate lab set-ups and equipment such as chemistry and engineering cannot be studied at home.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned downsides, the upsides of online university courses are far more significant. The principal one is that they allow learners to study in a flexible way, meaning that they can study whenever and wherever is convenient, and depend on their own pace to understand the lessons. Besides, the cost of these courses is often cost-efficient and cheaper than others. Finally, online learning provides open access to anyone, irrespective of age, location, ability, and background. Given the fact that my uncle, who is 40 years old, has recently enrolled in an online marketing course in a different country, which cannot be impossible the days before internet-based education.