Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Online courses are being considered as an alternative for classes at some universities. In my point of view, there are some positives and some negatives with this.

On the one hand, online courses bring positive effects because all of people can join easily and any people can save time and travelling cost. Firstly, it is convenient for most people to study subjects without classes. For example, with a computer, a laptop, a tablet, or a mobile phone connected with Internet, many people can join lessons regardless weather, places, or time. Moreover, a lot of international students can be trained at universities without moving abroad. Secondly, online courses are able to assist people to save time and travelling cost. Actually, there are many disadvantages in many people’s travelling such as traffic jams or few transport, hence it takes them a lot of time and cost for going to classes. With online courses, the people can have lessons at home.

On the other hand, there are some negatives from online course. Firstly, a face-to-face contact between a teacher and a student is important. Through body language, a teacher can know whether their students can understand their lectures or not to be able to apply effective teaching methods. Furthermore, an interaction among students in an academic environment is likely to motivate and inspire studying. For instance, students can build researching groups to discuss with each other. This means they can give each other a hand in opening their mind.

In conclusion, I believe that online courses as an alternative to classes bring positives and negatives.