Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a possitive or negative development?

Distance learning is substituting conventional teaching and studying in various colleges and universities. Even though this trend is deleterious to a certain extent, I believe that it could be considered positive for some reasons.

On the one hand, e-learning which does not require regular inteaction with teachers in a classroom setting, can be disadvantegeous. Students might fail to receive a comprehensive development as they often hand in their essay or assignments online and rarely consult a teacher for developing their weaknesses. This method of learning can even make some students procrastinate in their tasks, and as a result develop a sense of indiscipline and neglect towards their academic work. By contrast, with the correct guidance and consultation from professional teachers in the classroom, it will be possible for students to pose questions directly and feel responsible for their schoolwork.

On the other hand, virtual learning can be a wondrous alternative for students in their acquisition of knowledge and a degree. The great flexibility offered through such types of courses means that they can access the lessons and manage their own pace of learning, which is convenient for adults or bussinessmen who wish to pursue higher education. Besides, access to all resources of a traditional course is offered which empowers learners to have/freedom of choice over diverse disciplines, from science to economics. This helps to spread knowledge, making education universal and available to all, regarless of backgrounds.

In conclusion, I believe that while there are some drawbacks of courses delivered on websites, online studying method is also a revolutionary mode of learning in contemporary tertiary education systems.