Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

While online curriculums are increasingly popular, they continue to be rather controversial because the benefits are hard to quantify precisely. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate, and I will discuss them now.

On the one hand, opponents of online courses point out that communicating with instructors and classmates is not offered immediate and regular access. All the conversation typically take place through email and discussion forums. Secondly, it can be easily seen that the issue of online education is in examinations and assignments. For instance, students make use of plagiarism or hire an expert to take an online exam for them. Finally, there would be a concern over effective education of online courses if students fail to handle and manage time. They tend to delay and often have difficult with the time commitment required to complete assignments.

On the other hand, supporters of e-learning say that it is the best way to save money for some students enjoying education from foreign countries. The cost involved in areas such as accommodation, living expense and tuition fees is cheaper in comparing with their own country and their potential studydestination. For example, the cost of living in Vietnam accounts for a third of one in USA. Furthermore, and there are many troubles in regular face to face with classmates and teachers being classroom such as no polite in communication or bullying. These ones lead to psychological issues such as lack of confidence or autism. Ultimately, in terms of learning through the Internet, students are treated as adults by teachers. As a result, this is an opportunityto be independent and to learn/obtain/sharpen/hone some time management skills for them.

Overall, in my personal view, I agree that e-learning is an advantageous improvement for everyone because it provides needed technical and soft skills for students. This outweighs their possible disadvantages, as long as they can control and handle themselves.