Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, many universities are providing their students with online courses to ensure they achieve better results, instead of forcing them to attend courses on campus. From my perspective, I believe the merits of this approach outweigh the drawbacks.

To begin with, applying for an online class will bring many benefits to students.The first advantage is that this is more convenient because the pupils can require knowledge and access to the lessons wherever and whenever they want, which can boost the efficiency of the study progress. Furthermore, if attendants cannot transfer to schools for some reason, they can completely deal with the course at home without any problem. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, pupils in many countries are not allowed to go to school, they must stay at home, and start learning through online lessons. Therefore, not only spend more time pursuing a wealth of knowledge, but also have more opportunities to perfectly finish their lessons, enhancing their study performance.

Despite the advantages, there are some adverse effects that need to be addressed. First of all, preparing for and succeeding in an online course requires a high level of self-discipline, especially in the beginning when students are still adapting to the requirements of the course. Learners may easily be distracted by external factors, such as surrounding noise, and pay much attention to surfing the web, which may have negative impacts on their concentration. Furthermore, the lack of face-to-face interaction with the community may make them timid people, susceptible to peer pressure at school, and even cause some mental health problems such as depression and overthinking. Consequently, this will affect their development.

In conclusion, the advantages of taking online courses seem to outweigh the disadvantages because this method makes it easier to study and gain knowledge than before. Besides, resolving some disadvantages will make them a truly viable alternative.