Some young people commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks, some people think they should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, juvenile delinquency becomes a compelling concern in the society. Some people consider that young offenders who commit serious crimes deserve the same punishment as adults. However, I completely disagree with this point of view.

To begin with, I recognise that an appropriate punishment is crucial to the whole society, including young criminals, victims, and the public. Not only letting the young criminals realise that their behaviour is wrong, a proper punishment also works to prevent them from committing heinous crimes. For the victims and their family, it can be a consolation or a revenge after the tragic circumstances. Moreover, it plays a role as deterrent, warning the potential wrong-doers about the consequences after breaking laws, hence lower crime rate.

On the other hand, it is unnecessary to punish youngsters and adults in the same way because the different situation between them. The mind of young criminals is still immature that they cannot tell right from wrong. They are easily influenced by media, following some bad role models blindly. Rather than imposing a harsh sentence on them as on adults, it is in pressing need to help them back to the society. They should sit in the classroom instead of being locked behind the bars for a long period. Furthermore, juveniles tend to learn faster than adults. By some alternative measures, such as school education and community services, they can reconstruct their ethical value and contribute to the society.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that young criminals should receive penalty, I suggest that distinct measures must be set between youngsters and adults.