Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Is the amount of money spent on space research justifiable? Could the money be better spent?

What is your viewpoint on this issue? Give reasons for your answer.

Critics throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether spending on space exploration is justifiable or not. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries from NASA have casted light on this question regarding its achievement and financial figures. This essay will discuss both views using these examples to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the groundbreaking discoveries made are intuitively perceived as the positive drivers of further space exploration. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, resources that are exclusive on earth have potential values on scientific development. Secondly, the preparation of such exploration foster the development in material science. In fact, the coating employed on Tesla's electrical vehicles and Apple's smartwatches is derived from the space exploration in 19th century. Moreover, it must not be forgotten that although some of these experiments were failed, the experience of living in space stations has faciliated the plan of dwelling in other planets. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the money spent on space research is justifiable.

Although there is a case for monetising the space research into some tangible products we can use in daily life, the impact of space exploration cannot be overstated, in particular the colossal investment. This is largely because the preliminary work of an exploration entailing construction, logistic and pays for researchers is enormously extravagant. For instance, the spending on NASA last year was in fact tripled that of social welfare. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the disparity between rich and poor should have been narrowed if the idea of space exploration had been demolished since WWII. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that space research intensifies the financial burden of our nations.

In conclusion, although space exploration stands in the way of economic growth, the outcome of its ensuing experiments is practical on improving our living quality, therefore the expenditure on this field is justifiable. Given the ongoing economic revival, it is predicted that the investment on space station will be increased in the foreseeable future.