In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why? what are the solutions?

It's been some ages now, when the first Green Revolution ever took place. Agricultural industry has witnessed much progress since then, in terms of newer technologies applied to all its aspects. However, unfortunately, yet, many people across the globe sleep empty stomach because of lack of food.

The reasons are daunting to the soul, undoubtedly. Foremost, is the exponential growth in population, much so in third world regions, where also the impact is the highest. Secondly, the existing flawed model of the industry, where presence of multiple number of intermediaries between the farmer and the customer lead to disproportionate dilution of the amount paid to the farmer compared to what was actually paid by the customer. Further, bias in technology is more towards yield of crash crops rather than staple food like wheat or rice which cannot be afforded by the poor, aggravating the plight even more. In addition, there is also a lack of facilities such as cold storage, particularly in a country like India, which leads to destruction and wastage of food either due to untimely rains or rodents.

To my knowledge, the solutions to these grave problems could begin with controlling the population growth even if it means applying stringent rules like what was once done in China. Furthermore, Government policies to omit the "middle man" should be in place so that actual cost of the raw food can be enjoyed by the farmers, which will also stop the inflation of food price. For instance, in Africa, the coffee beans of supreme quality are bought by rich business companies, at an extremely cheap rate, to sell as processed chocolates, which we buy at an exorbitant prices. Moreover, facilities should be made available by the authorities to the farmers right from purchase of a better quality seed to cheap fertilizers until adequate storage of food so as to continue the quality chain at a reasonable price.

To conclude, there are several reasons to the existing problem of starvation enumerated above however, they can be solved just by having a conscientious mind & streamlined regulations.