In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, a great number of people around the world is facing hunger although improvements have been made in agriculture. It is crucial to tackle this issue and sort out the causes since the more the citizens are starving, the greater the negative impacts will be on the country's productivity.

Among the leading causes of famine, poverty plays as an important causative factor. In fact, poverty and hunger exist in a vicious cycle. The poor cannot afford to buy nutritious food for themselves as well as for their families. On the flip side, they cannot work longer hours since they are undernourished. Another reason might be due to population growth especially in the third world. The people in the developing world are not well-educated and have deficient knowledge about birth control methods. Consequently, the birth rate among the poor social class cannot be controlled, leading them to be in hunger-poverty chain. Besides, war and conflicts act as one of the possible causes of hunger world. The civil wars transform the cultivated land into battle field, disturbing the local farmers and agricultural sector. Meanwhile, importing goods will not be possible due to political instability.

Famine should be regarded as an international concern and all the governments, organizations and individuals should work together to overcome this problem. One sensible solution is to downsize poverty by provision of financial and technical help by the developed world. Organizations like United Nations should support the areas where famine has stricken. Furthermore, food donations would also deter the increasing number of hunger population. It is found that food wasted from the developed countries could feed the hunger world, and therefore, they should be encouraged to donate food instead of allowing them to rot. Not only it will prevent starvation but also it can improve the goodwill between the nations. Last but not least, maternal education plays a crucial role in preventing population growth which is a cause of famine. They should be educated about birth control and use of contraceptive methods. The government can also implement laws to limit birth rate by enforcing their citizens to bear one child per household, take China for instance.

In conclusion, since people become aware of food shortage in many countries, everyone and every organization should take part in reduction of this problem through maternal literacy, food donations and financial support, and finally, imposing laws to control the overgrowth of population. As soon as these solutions can be effectively brought about, I believe a significant reduction in the number of people going hungry will be seen.