In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of the enhancements made in agriculture, starvation and hunger remain existing in our world. In this essay, I would like to further discuss this topic more elaborately.

In our world today, particularly after industrialisation occurred, agriculture became a secondary interest for the more developed countries. Relying generally on the import of goods rather than working on planting because, most probably, from a cost-benefit perspective, it’s better. However, this does not mean that the agricultural sector became abandoned. In fact, enhancement of agricultural methods and tools by initiating soil studies, developing fertilisers and building dams, is in constant achievement.

Furthermore, precisely speaking, take for example the less developed countries, such as African countries, let’s say Kenya. I once came across an essay that talks about how rich Kenya is with fertile soils, yet, many of its inhabitants suffer from extreme famine. This is due to the lack of experience in agriculture whereas, advanced areas which are taken care of to produce consumable crops, are not for the consumption of the Kenyans, but are rather mainly exported to the more developed countries in exchange of money to the government and it is not clear where the money gets invested later on.

In addition, another main problem associated with starvation is poverty. In countries that suffer from severe inflation and the lack of work opportunities like Lebanon and Syria, have accelerating poverty rates because of the drop in the power of purchase.

In conclusion, hunger is an ever growing concern which must be addressed, perhaps by trying to lower poverty rates and increase job opportunities. Besides, establishing a control on the allocation of goods between citizens and most importantly fighting climate change which leads to desertification and harm fertile soils.